Angels Everywhere

reply to http://truestoriesofamidwestyankee.wordpress.com/2014/03/19/to-the-woman-behind-me-in-line-at-the-grocery-store/

Thank you for sharing about your Angel. It blesses my day.

When I was 11 years old my Mom took us on a trip that was a bit bizarre (Indiana to Mississippi to Texas and back).  We had very little money so we took the car and just went to visit family.

On our way back through Tennessee that car was almost out of gas so Mom pulled into a gas station out in the middle of nowhere.  The man came out to put gas in the car (they actually did that) and Mom told him she was out of cash and needed to write a check.  In the back seat my little sister was hollering at Mom that she was hungry.

The man at the gas station sized up the car, the kids in it, and the story from this tiny lady and turned around and walked back in the building.  He came back out with an arm full of food and pop.  He had snacks and pop for us.  He then told my Mom that he was going to fill the car with gas and she need not pay him a check for any of this.  He would only hope that if his wife and kids were in the same spot that someone would take care of them.

This sticks with me in bold letters today at 51.  I remember the impact of an Angel who gave us junk food and a tank of gas.  But what he really gave me was a faith in humans.  There are a lot of twisted and broken people out there. But most want to help even if they don’t know how to.

Mom was raising us by herself in the 70’s and jobs were not great.  Dad sent support, but certainly didn’t cover it all.  But she always managed to get by.  Sometimes we used food stamps, sometimes we had to eat with others, and sometimes the meals were odd combinations of things we had. But she always fed us.  Sometimes we couldn’t pay the rent, sometimes we couldn’t get the gas bill paid. But we were always fed and we always felt Loved.

I pray your husband finds good work today.  I pray you are surrounded by the body of Christ and  walked through this.

Matthew 25:34-36 ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

 

 

About toddcbrown

The body of Christ will never grow if the Pastor is the one using his gifts to MAKE IT grow through some cool program or inspiring turn of a phrase.
This entry was posted in Religion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

