Halloween and Our Faith

This is a reposting a response to another BLOG (http://therecoveringlegalist.com/2013/10/28/trying-to-understand-the-undead). Wonder what your thoughts are.

Halloween for me has always been more about kids putting on the character of someone else and having fun. The scary parts or characters are not my bag, but I get that for some older “kids” that part of the appeal is scaring someone.  They enjoy the feeling of power and mystery that is there.

I don’t hate it. I think of it as an opportunity to sit with some kids Dad at our fall festival and talk to him about his job, his babies, and his relationship to God.  I get to give candy to a kid and have him look at our Church as a place where nice people are at, a safe place. 

Look I’m not saying it is wrong to hate it.  It can be dark and make the  occult appealing. It can also make folks think demons or their master are silly. He is not silly or fun. Inviting Satan to play is a dangerous game.

I’m just putting forth the idea of taking Paul’s road. To the Jew be a Jew, to the Greek be a Greek, etc.  Dress up like The Lone Ranger and give a kid a candy bar.  Ask his dad how his relationship with God is going.  Get the guys number. Call and ask him again after he has had sometime to come to the real answer.

My 2 cents  :-)

About toddcbrown

The body of Christ will never grow if the Pastor is the one using his gifts to MAKE IT grow through some cool program or inspiring turn of a phrase.
This entry was posted in Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment