A Parents Heart

I spoke to a friend of mine this week as we worked from our homes and my friend mentioned that he was terribly troubled about his daughter. She is about 2 ½ and she had been running a fever of 104.5º.  He said that she was such a good child. She never complains or whines. She just simply says she doesn’t feel good and wants to know if she can be with him.

I can just see her. There is lays just draped across his lap.

Completely trusting

Longing for the comfort of her Father

Believing that if she can just be close to him all will be well

I told my friend about when our Benjamin was so small and he was running a very high fever. DaRhonda left with our newest baby Brittney and I sat on a chair in our living room with Ben. He was just draped around me like a blanket.

After we sat there for a long while I was just soaked in sweat and he was burning up.

I got worried and I laid him back in my lap and I saw that he was clinching his teeth and spit was coming out of his mouth. I spoke to him and he would not respond at all. Then he began to mildly twitch and when his eyes would open the rolled back in his head.

I was torn to bits. To quote Isaiah I came undone.

I was totally focused on my child. I did not care if he loved me. I did not care if he was good or bad. I did not care about his sorted past of eating crayons or hitting his new sister. At that moment I would have done anything to heal his little body and bring him back to me.

There we were two fathers commiserating over a feeling that only a parent can have for their child.

Then it hit me.

God feels that same way about me.

I said to my friend, “How do people who are not parents understand God?”

[Pause]

When we think of God we think of Him as He has presented Himself to us. Father God. Jesus Christ. Holy Spirit.

For many the idea of God as a “Father figure” is very difficult because the relationship they have with their father is one of abandonment, anger, violence, and fear. 

The important distinction is that this Father never left you.

This father will never leave you.

Psalms 27:10 Though my father and mother forsake me, the LORD will receive me.

This father has never been anything but just.

Matthew 7:11 If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!

But God does not just father us…. He mothers us as well.

In Genesis 1:26-27 God says, “Let us make man in our image… male and female he created them”.

Most often the Holy Spirit is referred to as He or Him, but in these Old Testament texts the Hebrew word “ruach” that is used to for the Spirit is a feminine noun. The Spirit is not part of God, the Spirit is God and she is with us always.

I have mixed emotions regarding the reference to God with female nouns or pronouns. I believe that God’s direct communication with man prior to Jesus has many references to His female and male character. He is referred to as our Mother and as having a womb. This is undeniable.

Isaiah 66:13 As a mother comforts her child, so will I comfort you . . .

Isaiah 66:12  you will nurse and be carried on her arm and dandled on her knees.

Jesus paints a beautiful image of maternal Love from God.

Matthew 23:37 how often I have longed to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, but you were not willing.

 

God Loves us as the father protector.

But God Loves us as the mother nursing us and caring for us through our weakest moments.

God comforts us

God carries us in a mother’s arms

God hides us under her wings

Psalms 17:8 hide me in the shadow of your wings

But like a mother she weans us and allows us to mature.

It refers to Psalm 131 and talks about the fact that a weaned child doesn’t lay in its mother’s arms only to be fed. It lies in its mother’s arms knowing that it can trust the mother and accept whatever she has to offer. 

Psalm 131

1 My heart is not proud, O LORD,

       my eyes are not haughty;

       I do not concern myself with great matters

       or things too wonderful for me.

 2 But I have stilled and quieted my soul;

       like a weaned child with its mother,

       like a weaned child is my soul within me.

 3 O Israel, put your hope in the LORD

       both now and forevermore.

God’s love is so immense that we are forced to scan the full range of human attachment and love and compassion to find a mere shadow of God’s feelings for us.

God treats his people as the apple of his eye – that most precious part of the body which we instantly shield by blinking or taking whatever measures are appropriate to meet its every need. Thus we find this description of how God treated the Israelites:

Deuteronomy 32:10 In a desert land he found him, in a barren and howling waste. He shielded him and cared for him; he guarded him as the apple of his eye.

In a rush of metaphors, the inspired psalmist prayed:

Psalms 17:8 Keep me as the apple of your eye; hide me in the shadow of your wings

(http://net-burst.net/god/mother.htm#mom)

So what is necessary to be the apple of His eye.

Accept it

When you accept the Kingship of Jesus Christ into your life you have now been adopted into the family of God.

John 1:12-13 “Yet to all who received him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God— children born not of natural descent, nor of human decision or a husband’s will, but born of God.”

Luke 8:54 Jesus says “My Child”

Romans 8:17 “Now if we are children, then we are heirs—heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory.”

Romans 9 “…not the natural children who are God’s children, but it is the children of the promise”

Galatians 3:7 believers are children

Galatians 4 You are children of the King, not slaves

Eph 4-5 “Children of the light”

Phillip 2:15 “…blameless and pure, children of God…” “shine like stars”

1 John 3:1 “Children of God”

1 John 4:4 “You, dear children, are from God and have overcome them, because the one who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world.”

Luke 20:35-37 “But those who are considered worthy of taking part in that age and in the resurrection from the dead … they can no longer die; for they are like the angels. They are God’s children”

John 10:34 “Jesus answered them, “Is it not written in your Law, ‘I have said you are gods’?”  (Psalm 82:6)

Does that sound like defeat? Do you recognize what has just been said?

You are a Child of God!

You are A Prince,  A Princess, A Brother, A Friend…

 

You are a member of the family, you can sit on the couch, you can walk in the room with your head held high, and you can make eye contact.

You can dance if you want to. You can leave this world behind….

Does that smell like defeat to you?

Is that the story of a poor sinner or the battle cry of victory?

God’s plan was not for you to accept that you stink. God’s final plan was for you to walk into the throne room and agree to be his child.

“Cool… So I accept Jesus and I can now I can just do whatever I like and Jesus will pick up the tab. I’m not perfect, but I am forgiven.”

WRONG –

That my friends is “Snatching defeat from the hands of victory”

If you want to send God a Mother’s Day gift listen to the words of Jesus

John 14:15-21

15″If you love me, you will obey what I command. 16And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Counselor to be with you forever— 17the Spirit of truth. The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees him nor knows him. But you know him, for he lives with you and will be[c] in you. 18I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. 19Before long, the world will not see me anymore, but you will see me. Because I live, you also will live. 20On that day you will realize that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you. 21Whoever has my commands and obeys them, he is the one who loves me. He who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love him and show myself to him.”

About toddcbrown

The body of Christ will never grow if the Pastor is the one using his gifts to MAKE IT grow through some cool program or inspiring turn of a phrase.
This entry was posted in Religion, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Parents Heart

  1. lisahinkel08 says:

    Just read your blog from 5/9/09 and was really touched by it.Hope you had a good service this a.m. at church.  I am enjoying the time with my family here in Michigan.  I enjoyed attending church with my family this a.m. and seeing all the folks I love so much!God bless you both today and through the week.Lisa

Leave a Reply

