What if you’re wrong?

1 Peter 2:24-25  “He himself bore our sins in his body on the tree, so that we might die to sins and live for righteousness; by his wounds you have been healed. For you were like sheep going astray, but now you have returned to the Shepherd and Overseer of your souls.”

I sat Wednesday night and listened to the Children’s lesson about Easter.

Hard lesson… Children and Easter

Corruption, betrayal, agony, murder… Adult behavior to be sure

I dreaded the job of Mr. Chaney as he stood in front of the Children trying to explain something that to a child mind makes no since.

And as he spoke to their wiggles and questions a question came from a little boy that struck all of the adults in the room like a bolt of lightning.

“Mr. Chaney, What if you’re wrong about God?”

You could see the fear in the eyes of every adult in the room except Mr. Chaney.

How many of you can honestly say that you have never asked yourself that question?

Chaney’s answer to the kids was great. I’ll paraphrase.

“I don’t believe I’m wrong, but if I were going to be wrong about something I would be wrong for God. Through God I live my life in the best way. I do the right things. I Love people, I’m nice to people, and take care of people.

Without God I do the wrong things and my life would be a mess. So even if I were wrong rather live for God. ”

“I would rather walk with God in the dark than go alone in the light.” ~Mary Gardiner Brainard

Chaney’s answer would closely match this piece of scripture.

Acts 20:22 – “And now, compelled by the Spirit, I am going to Jerusalem, not knowing what will happen to me there.”

As I watched the children I saw that fewer than half really pay attention at any given moment.  They are eating cheese, crackers, or cookies. They are worrying about if someone else is getting more cheese before them, even if they haven’t touched theirs. But I can speak from personal experience and tell you that in that room there is at least one child who is listening intently to what is being said.

There in that room one child now knows that one of the reasons why you should error on the side of God is because your life will be better. Hopefully they learn in our Children’s programs that there will be friends there who Love them, mentors they can trust and talk to about anything, and the comfort of knowing that God is there for them no matter what do or where they are.

But so that we can continue our service without ignoring the elephant in the room, I have a question. 

1 Peter 3:15

Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect

Has anyone in this room experienced the presence and the blessing of God.

Can I get a witness?

I personally have a problem with that idea that we might be wrong about God because I have personally heard His voice and seen His work.

I stand among a cloud of witness.

I have been in a group that has prayed for a woman with a golfball sized tumor in her head. I have known the tumor to be gone at that next examination.

I have been rescued from being held captive and placed back with my mother when I called upon the Lord.

I have seen my child be pulled from the hands of Satan and back into my arms when I obeyed the Lord and returned to Him.

You see for me… This is no more a question of right or wrong than the existence of this floor under my feet.

Paul says it this way, “…since what may be known about God is plain to them, because God has made it plain to them. For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities—his eternal power and divine nature—have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that men are without excuse.” (Romans 1:19-20)

Here is the tricky part… I am never going to stand here and convince you that there is a God and you are never going to convince me that there isn’t one.

Only God can bring you to God. 

But how?

Jeremiah 31:3 (KJV): “…I have loved thee with an everlasting love: therefore with loving kindness have I drawn thee.”

Ezekiel 34:11, 16 (ESV): “I myself will search for my sheep and will seek them out…I will seek the lost, and I will bring back the strayed, and I will bind up the injured, and I will strengthen the weak…”

Luke 19:10: “For the Son of Man is come to seek and to save that which was lost.”

John 6:44: “No man can come unto me, unless the Father who hath sent me, draw him…”

Romans 2:4: “… God’s kindness leads you toward repentance…”

Philippians 2:12-13: “…work out your own salvation with fear and trembling. For it is God that worketh in you according to his good pleasure, both to will and to do.”

1 John 4:19: “We love him, because he first loved us.”

But the question remains, how will He do it.

Acts 20:22 – “And now, compelled by the Spirit, I am going to Jerusalem, not knowing what will happen to me there.”

Compelled by the Spirit…

Why is it that we give no credit to the still small voice that stirs within us?

Yet, It is the greatest proof of all.

No one can take this witness from you.

No one can replace it in you or prove it wrong.

It is yours, your personal gift from God.

John 14

15″If you love me, you will obey what I command. 16And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Counselor to be with you forever— 17the Spirit of truth. The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees him nor knows him. But you know him, for he lives with you and will be[c] in you. 18I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. 19Before long, the world will not see me anymore, but you will see me. Because I live, you also will live. 20On that day you will realize that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you. 21Whoever has my commands and obeys them, he is the one who loves me. He who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love him and show myself to him.”

Do you carry that gift with you? If you do then you know it. There will be no doubt that you have it.

How long has been since you felt His presence truly with you?

How long since you walked in His way?

How long have you been running from His Way?

Well what do ya say we stop running today?

How about we make this our resurrection day?

It is the only undeniable proof we have of God. But if we have it then He is undeniable for us and we may be the proof needed by someone else to come looking for the Way.

About toddcbrown

The body of Christ will never grow if the Pastor is the one using his gifts to MAKE IT grow through some cool program or inspiring turn of a phrase.
This entry was posted in Religion, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

