Stayed up till midnight watching Oprah talk to the man who wrote the book “A Million Little Pieces”. (stupid, I had a breakfast with buddies at 5:30am today, yawn) I stayed up to watch it because I saw a short clip on the news that involved her telling this gentleman that he had embarassed and disappointed her.


Why did I care? Well, my Brittney (http://www.xanga.com/home.aspx?user=britinitney)was reading his book when she was home last. And the second reason is the fact that I think he reflects a real tear in our social fabric that has opened up. I have called it “convient morality”, but I like what I heard a comedian call it. He called it “Truthiness”. Basically, people seem to think that truth is variable. WRONG!


See, the man had sold the book as a nonfiction memoir.  But when the facts came out


http://www.thesmokinggun.com/archive/0104061jamesfrey1.html


He had actually made up a good deal of the story. He said that he had only changed things that didn’t matter, but on the show he admitted that he had changed something about every character. Little things like: Instead of 87 days in jail he spent less then 87 minutes (30 minutes to be exact), instead of hanging herself the herione had actually cut her wrists. Well, and obviously she didn’t do it while waiting on him for a whole 1/2 hour.  But clearly that is all trivial. ARRGGGGG!!!


The fact is that people think of the truth as this liquid thing that they can change on the fly. If they played flag football on an intermural team at college, then they were a college athelete on thier resume. If they once watched their father fix a carberator then a year later they are telling someone they have rebuilt one themselves. But all of this doesn’t really matter as long as no one gets hurt. It just helps the person relate to the people around them. NO, ITS A LIE!


Don’t get me wrong. I have lied. I have been a lier. I do all I can to convey nothing but the truth now. No, I’m not an angel, but I have been shown by God that it is just simpler to live that way. Lies mean that we all have nothing to count on. A culture of lies kills the value of almost everything.


Truth is not negotiable. Truth is not one thing for you and another for me. Truth is a math problem, not an essay.  Truth is 1 + 1 = 2  /  If you get 3 then the truth is that there is an extra piece you haven’t found yet and the math problem revieled it; or you are real bad at math.  Truth isn’t, “Well 3 is my truth, you are welcome to yours.” NO!!!  Philosophy has variables, perception has varialbes, Truth Does Not.


If no one can prove the truth it doesn’t mean that there is no truth, it means no one knows the truth yet. Oh, the truth is still there. People could fly long before anyone did. That didn’t mean that the truth was that human flight was impossible.


Truth is that water is wet. Truth is that God is good. God can’t be bad anymore then water can be dry.


Fact is, if God chooses to do it is now Good! True


Blah, Blah, Blah…  Tell the truth. It makes life so much simpler.


No that doens’t mean to be a jerk. “Man you are fat”… No, No, No…  It means speak the truth, “Hey, I broke your chair. I’m sorry.” 


Hey, I Love you guys.  I am about to have a good weekend. Hope you join me.


Your Brother in Christ,


Todd

About toddcbrown

The body of Christ will never grow if the Pastor is the one using his gifts to MAKE IT grow through some cool program or inspiring turn of a phrase.
This entry was posted in Religion, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

